Day-9 – Durga Visarjan, Dussehra, Vijayadashmi

The 9th day of Navratri is devoted to Goddess Siddhidatri also referred to as Maha Navami, the 9th form of Nava Durga.

Durga Visarjan, Dussehra, Vijayadashmi

Durga Visarjan, Dussehra, Vijayadashmi

Navratri is celebrated all over India for 9 days. In the Northern region, Navratri ends with the Dussehra festival whereas Bengali do Durga Puja and it ends the immersion of the Idol of Goddess Durga. Both Navratri and Durga Puja are celebrated over the period of nine days but both festivals are somewhat different.

Navratri ends with the celebration of Lord Rama’s victory over Ravana and it is celebrated as the festival Dussehra. Dussehra is celebrated on the 10th day of Navratri 10th in Sanskrit means Dashmi that’s why it is also known as Vijayadashmi where Vijaya means victory and Dashmi means 10th.

Sindoor Khela

Whereas Durga Puja is celebrated to celebrate the victory of Goddess Durga over the demon Mahishasur. The Durga Puja celebration ends with Sindoor Khela where the married woman plays with Sindoor (Vermillion) and after this, the idol of Goddess Durga gets immersed in a nearby lake or river.

Immersion/Visarjan of Goddess Durga

Both Navratri and Durga Puja end on Day 10. May this Navratri brings happiness, and success in your life and remove all the negativity from the world.

Jai Mata Di.

-Radhika Malhotra

Leave a Reply