9 Nights -Navratri- The Auspicious Hindu Festival

9 Nights
9 Nights
9 Nights 9 Swaroops - Navratri by Ashu Verma Chaubey
9 Nights
9 Nights

Navratri or The Festival of Nine Nights is perhaps the longest festival celebrated throughout the world with great enthusiasm and fervour. And the longest religious festival celebrated in India in honour of the Supreme female cosmic power Or Devi, devoted to her nine avatars or forms, she took to liberate the world of evil forces while her nine-day-long battle with the demon king Mahishasura and spread peace and prosperity among her devotees.

The swaroops of Devi signify power, strength, bravery, knowledge, beauty, grace, and auspiciousness.
Every single day is devoted to each one of these swaroops.

9 Swaroops
9 Swaroops

9 Nights 9 Swaroops

Let us through this blog try to observe, praise, rejoice, celebrate and feel connected to these
nine swaroops by remembering them one by one on this auspicious 9 nights :::::::

Maa Shailputri

The first swaroop of Maa Durga is worshipped as Maa Shailputri meaning thereby the daughter of the mountain. She rides a bull and carries a trident and a lotus in her hands. She is considered to be an embodiment of patience and symbolises mother nature.

She wears yellow signifying brightness, happiness, and cheer.

Maa Brahmcharini

The second swaroop is Maa Brahmcharini, signifying a devoted female student, holding a japa mala in one hand and kamandalu (a water utensil) in the other and living in the ashram with her guru.

She wears white signifying bachelorhood and purity.

Maa Chandraghanta

The third swaroop, Maa Chandraghanta also known as Chandika or RannChandi is the Goddess of spirituality and internal strength and is believed to reward her devotees with grace, bravery and courage. By her grace, all sins, distress, physical suffering, and ghostly hurdles of her devotees are eradicated.

She represents the married form of Parvati and has ten hands, one of which always remains in blessing posture and is fear dispelling She rides a lion, wears half moon and her complexion is golden and she has a third eye.

Her colour is red signifying beauty and strength.

Maa Kushmanda

The fourth swaroop of Maa Durga is represented as Maa Kushmanda swaroop. She is believed to be the origin of the universe and resides in the sun providing brightness and radiance to it and has eight hands, her seven hands respectively holding kamadala, bow, arrow, lotus, nectar-filled urn, chakra, and mace. And her eighth hand holds a Japa mala(rosary) granting all the siddhis and nidhis to her devotees.

She is also known as Ma Ashtabhuji. She rides a lioness. Devotees worship her for health, wealth, and strength with red flowers.

The auspicious colour for the day is grey.

The fifth swaroop of Devi Bhagwati is worshipped as Maa Skandmata, meaning thereby, the mother of the war god Skand (kartikeya).

She is four-armed, three eyed with one of her hands in abyamudra position and the second holding her infant son Skand in her lap. The other two hands are shown to be holding Lotus flowers. Her complexion is light or shubhr and she is seated on a lotus flower, hence also called Devi Padmasani. Devotees worshipping this swaroop of Maa also get the blessings of Lord Kartikeya.

The colour for this day is orange signifying brightness, knowledge, and tranquility.

Maa Katyayani

The sixth swaroop of Maa Bhawani is popularly known as Maa Katyayani, the remover of negative energies and hurdles in one’s life. She signifies intelligence and peace. She was created by the combined energies of the anger of gods and is the slayer of the demon Mahishasura. She is depicted with four, ten, or eighteen hands and three eyes and her name is the second name given to Goddess Adi Parashakti. She is a warrior goddess and the most fierce form of Goddess Parvati.

The colour of Maa Katyayani is white symbolizing signifying purity, peace, and meditation.

Kalratri Devi

The seventh swaroop of MahaDevi is known as Kalratri Devi. Her body is as black as the darkness of a moonless night with scattered hair. She is also known as Kali, the Goddess of auspiciousness and courage, and wears a garland around her neck that shines like lightning.

She is one of the fiercest forms of the MahaDevi who killed the demons Shumbh and Nishumbh and is believed to be the destroyer of all evil and negative energies. She rides a donkey and has four hands, with right hands in Abhaymudra and Varadamudra and a sword and iron hook in her left hands She is the ruler of the night and is also known as Shubhankari due to her auspicious powers within her ferocious form.

She loves Red signifying beauty and courage.

Maa MahaGauri

The eighth swaroop of MahaMaya is Maa MahaGauri. She is the Goddess of beauty and women and is extremely fair due to which she is compared to the counch, moon, and kund (star jasmine) flowers. She wears white clothes only hence is also named Shwetambardhara.

The one who worships this swaroop of MahaDevi gets freedom from all sufferings in life as she has the power to fulfill all desires in life. A Trishul in one right hand, with the other right hand in Abhaya mudra and a Damaru in one left hand with the second in Varada Mudra she blesses her devotees with happiness and prosperity.

She likes peacock green symbolizing uniqueness and individuality. It’s also the colour of compassion and freshness.

Nava Durga

Ma Siddhidaatri is the ninth among the nine forms of Nava Durga. Siddhi means supernatural powers of meditative ability and daatri means awarder. She to have originated in the left half of Shiva from the formless Adi Parashakti with Shiva and Adi shakti taking the combined form of Ardhanarishwar.

She sits on a lotus and rides a lion. She has gadaa in one right hand and chakra in the other with Lotus and Shankh in her left hands and possesses all the eight supernatural powers or siddhis. It is said that Lord Shiva also attained all the siddhis by worshipping her. She is believed to fulfill all divine aspirations of her devotees.

Pink is the colour of Maa Siddhidaatri symbolizing kindness, affection, and harmony.

9 Nights – 9 Forms

These nine forms of MahaMaaya symbolize nature, harmony, beauty, courage, intellect, knowledge, love, emotions, and spirituality.

So let’s all bow down to all these forms of MahaMaya NavDurga in reverence and pray for her blessings.

“Ya Devi Sarvbhuteshu Shakti Rupen Sansthita… Namastasyai, Namastasyai, Namastasyai
Namo Namah”
“Sarva Mangal Mangalya, Shive Sarvarth Sadhike… Sharanya Triambike Gauri Narayani

“Om Dum Durgaaye Namah”
Hail Mother Goddess MahaMaya

-Ashu Verma Chaubey

About The Author

1 thought on “9 Nights -Navratri- The Auspicious Hindu Festival”

  1. Pingback: Mata Ka Jagraata: Navratri and Ratri Jagran - The Momma Clan

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top