Indian Premier League – IPL 2023

TATA IPL (Pic Courtesy: Google)
Indian Premier League, current news as mustered by Santwana Neeraj
IPL 2023
TATA IPL (Pic Courtesy: Google)

The Indian Premier League, also known as IPL, is a men’s twenty20 (T20) cricket league that is annually held in India and played by ten city-based franchise teams. This extravagant event is sponsored by the TATA group of companies. The league in India was originally founded by the Board of Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) in the year 2007. The competition is usually held between March and May every year and lasts for approximately 2 months. 

The IPL is the most popular cricket league in the world. In 2014, it was ranked sixth by average attendance among all sports leagues. In 2010, it became the first sporting event to be broadcast live on YouTube. The brand value of IPL in 2022 was US$11 billion. According to BCCI, the 2015 IPL season contributed US$140 billion to the GDP of the economy of India. The league has banned players from Pakistan since 2008, the previous and only time they appeared in the IPL. 

As of 2023, fifteen seasons have been played in the tournament. The current champions and the title holders are the Gujarat Titans, who won the 2022 contest by defeating Rajasthan Royals in the final.

The IPL headquarters is situated inside the Cricket Centre next to Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. The IPL Governing Council is responsible for the league’s functions, including the organization of the tournament.

Teams IPL 2023 (Pic Courtesy: Google)

At present IPL has a total of 10 teams which includes,

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Mumbai Indians (MI)

Gujarat Titans (GT)

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)

Punjab Kings (PBKS)

Rajasthan Royals (RR)

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

Delhi Capitals (DC)

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

With five titles, Mumbai Indians have won the most titles in the league’s history. The Chennai Super Kings have won four titles, the Kolkata Knight Riders have won two, and Rajasthan Royals, Deccan Chargers, Sunrisers Hyderabad, and Gujarat Titans have all won the title once. As of 2023, the current champions are the Gujarat Titans, who defeated the Rajasthan Royals by seven wickets in the 2022 IPL final to secure their first title. 

The 2023 Indian Premier League is the ongoing 16th season of the IPL. The league is going to be held from 31st March 2023- 28th May 2023. While the rules of IPL varies from regular T20 format, a number of new laws have been introduced in this season:

  • A penalty of five runs if unfair movement by a fielder or wicketkeeper occurs as a ball being delivered and before it is received by the batsman. The dead ball will also be declared.
  • Teams can be declared after the toss.
  • An “Impact Player” rule allows sides to substitute a player during a match from four named substitutes.
  • If a team fails to bowl their 20 overs in the allocated time, only four fielders will be allowed outside of the fielding restrictions circle for the remainder of the innings.
  • Teams can review balls for wides and no- balls using the Decision Review System (DRS).

The IPL 2023 league stage will be played across 12 venues in India, while the playoffs phase of the schedule is yet to be announced. The Assam Cricket Association Stadium, Guwahati made its IPL debut and will host the first two Rajasthan Royals home games before they play their remaining five home games at Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur while Dharamsala will be making its return to IPL after ten years and will host the final two Punjab Kings home games after they play their first five home games at Mohali. The other eight teams will be playing all their home games at their traditional home grounds. The home stadiums of all IPL teams are Ahmedabad, Mohali, Lucknow, Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Kolkata, Jaipur, and Mumbai. Guwahati and Dharamshala are the 2 new venues added in IPL 2023.

The teams are divided into two groups, A and B, of five teams each. Each team will play seven home and seven away games. A team will play each team in the other group twice (home and away) and will play once with four of the teams in the same group.

Group A includes,

Mumbai Indians 

Kolkata Knight Riders 

Rajasthan Royals 

Delhi Capitals

Lucknow Super Giants, and

Group B includes,

Chennai Super Kings

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Gujarat Titans 

Royal Challengers Bangalore 

Punjab Kings

In the current IPL season, matches are taking longer to finish due to teams bowling at a slow over- rate. According to the IPL rules, an innings should be completed in 90 minutes, including two 5- minute strategic timeouts, and a complete match should be finished in 3 hours and 20 minutes. However, as of 9 May 2023, not a single innings has ended in the above-mentioned time frame. 

The IPL offers a fascinating game format to its viewers. Below are some of the interesting notes regarding IPL 2023.

  • In fan parks, the league installs a large screen where audiences can watch matches.
  • Rashid Khan captained GT for their match vs. KKR when Hardik Pandya was ruled out.
  • Suryakumar Yadav captained MI for their match vs. KKR in which Sharma was added as an Impact Player due to injury.
  • Sam Curran captained PBKS for two matches in which Dhawan was injured.
  • Virat Kohli captained RCB for two matches in which du Plessis was added as an Impact Player due to injury.
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar captained SRH for their first match as Markram was unavailable.
  • Kayo Sports and Fox Tell offer video-on-demand services.
IPL 2023 Captains

IPL is a great experience for anyone who loves cricket. It can offer you a spectacular onscreen/in-stadium view and can keep you on the edge of your seat, possibly in every match. 

-Santwana Neeraj

About The Author

6 thoughts on “Indian Premier League – IPL 2023”

  1. You’re so awesome! I don’t believe I have read a single thing like that before. So great to find someone with some original thoughts on this topic. Really.. thank you for starting this up. This website is something that is needed on the internet, someone with a little originality!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top